I Watch Every Disney Movie in Order So You Don’t Have To: Snow White and The Seven Dwarfs

DisneyUniverse
5 min readFeb 18, 2021

--

Hey guys, I’m Gabby. For those who don’t know me, which is probably most of you, I love Disney. Ever since Disney+ came out I have nonstop binged my favorite Disney shows and movies. I was even reminded of the older movies that Disney came out with.

As I was browsing through the many options Disney+ has to offer I noticed a section titled “Through the Decades”. I instantly clicked on that and was not disappointed. Disney managed to gather every single piece of video they had from 1928’s Steamboat Willie to the most recent Disney film, which, at the time writing this, is Soul. I was finally able to fulfill my goal of watching every single Disney movie in order. So, I decided to make this blog so you can come along with me through this journey. I will leave a link down below of the list of Disney movies I will be watching (*disclaimer* some movies, such as The Song of The South, have been banned or are not available on Disney+, so I’ll try my best).

Disney, 1937

The first movie on the list is the 1937 film, Snow White and The Seven Dwarfs. To start off, this movie is basically about a 14 year old princess named Snow White. Is White her last name? I don’t know, but to me the whole name is both cool and weird at the same time. Her stepmother/The Queen, who doesn’t have a name for some reason, wants to be the prettiest one in the land, or “The fairest one of all”. Unfortunately for her, Snow White seems to win that category causing The Queen to send some guy to murder her. He fails and tells Snow White to run away and never return. This next scene is the scene that scared us all as kids as the trees would miraculously have faces and the branches would turn into hands.

Disney, 1937

She then becomes friends with some forest animals, without getting any disease whatsoever, and basically breaks into seven men’s house. Snow knocks, but no one answers and usually when no one answers, that means you turn around and find the next cottage. Right? Oh no not for Snow White, she just goes in anyway, because, you know, she can. She cleans the house and then sleeps on the Dwarf’s beds, no big deal. After freaking out that Snow White broke into their house, the Dwarf’s decide that she can stay, as long as she cooks….and cleans….and bakes pies…and does any other chore that they don’t feel like doing. You know how men are.

Going back to The Queen, she is beyond angry about Snow White running away. So, she decides to do it herself because if you want something done, you gotta do it yourself. Now, The Queen really went all out. She went as far as creating this crazy potion that would completely turn her into someone else. Now, if I was an evil Queen trying to kill my step-daughter, I MAY want to take the approach of NOT looking like a scary old woman. But what do I know? She then is so creative that she decides she’s going to poison an apple and make it a red apple this way it looked like it would taste good, which worked, because I was also tempted to eat it.

Disney, 1937

So, now The Queen puts this plan into effect. Snow White is doing what she does best, baking some pies, and then here she comes, evil, old, scary queen/woman with her black cape. She doesn’t even hesitate, she just full on pulls up to the window and basically says “Hey, try this apple!” If this was me, first of all, I’d scream and probably lock all of the doors and run away, second, WHO ARE YOU AND NO THANKS TO THE APPLE LIKE WHAT?!?! But that’s just me. Like I said again, what do I know? After not that much persuasion, (“if you eat this apple all your wishes will come true” um in what world lady?) Snow White decides, “yeah, why not? I’ll eat the apple” and guess what? she falls into a deep slumber. I TOLD HER NOT TO DO IT. But no one listens to me.

Thank God for the forest animals though because they managed to get the Dwarfs over there…..LATE, so they missed her basically dying, but to make up for it they run The Queen off a cliff. Now, instead of burying Snow White, the Dwarfs wanted to put her in this clear case thing, and surround her with flowers and I guess their plan was to sit there until she rotted…..? I don’t know. But then, out. of. the. blue. The Prince, (did I mention there was a prince, who also doesn’t have a name who “met” Snow White for like two minutes, sang her a song, because you know…love, and then left for the rest of the movie?) shows up and is like “omg that’s the girl i’m in love with!” He kisses her and then she WAKES UP…..SHE WAKES UP. WHAT?! Then everything is “Happily Ever After”.

Disney, 1937

Now, look, obviously, this is a Disney movie, it’s supposed to not make sense, but that’s what makes this blog so fun. As I get older, I start to realize how ridiculous some of these movies are and I like to point them out. For what it is, this movie is actually pretty good. It kept my attention, despite it being pretty old, I was still invested. I definitely recommend watching this movie if you have nothing better to do. It’s your typical fairytale story that has a happy ending. The lesson that I took from this film was don’t talk to strangers and don’t trust red apples.

*Before Snow White there is an anthology film called Academy Award Review of Walt Disney Cartoons, which is just a collection of some of Walt Disney’s shorts. They are all very cute and nostalgic so I recommend giving them a try.

List of Disney movies in order of release.

--

--

DisneyUniverse

My name is Gabriella Dragone and I am currently a Journalism major attending Montclair State University in Montclair, New Jersey.